skip to main content

California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP)

"The California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress administration includes the Smarter Balanced Summative Assessments; the California Alternate Assessments (CAAs), including the CAA for Science; and the California Science Tests (CASTs). The optional primary language test, the Standards-based Tests in Spanish (STS) for Reading/Language Arts (RLA)."

Smarter Balance Assessment Consortium (SBAC)

"New state standards are challenging students to understand subject matter more deeply, think more critically, and apply their learning to the real world. To measure these new state standards, educators from Smarter Balanced states worked together to develop new, high-quality assessments in English and math for grades 3–8 and high school. These Smarter Balanced assessments provide more accurate and meaningful information about what students are learning by adapting to each student’s ability, giving teachers and parents better information to help students succeed in school and after." Click here to read more about the SBAC.
Preparation Materials

California Science Test (CAST)

"The pilot of the CASTs will be administered during the portion of the LEA’s selected testing window that occurs in the spring. These tests are to be administered to all students in grades five and eight and to selected students in grades ten, eleven, and twelve." 
  • Results from previous years are still being processed
Preparation Materials

California Alternative Assessment (CAA)

"The California Alternate Assessments (CAAs) for English language arts/literacy (ELA), mathematics, and science are part of the California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress system. The goals of the CAAs are to ensure that students with the most significant cognitive disabilities achieve increasingly higher academic outcomes and leave high school ready for postsecondary options. The CAAs for ELA and mathematics are aligned with alternate achievement standards—called the Core Content Connectors (CCCs)—and linked to the Common Core State Standards (CCSS)."